You are here

Schengen Visa India

Schengen is a small place in Luxembourg, close to the borders of Germany and France where a number of European countries signed a treaty to process Schengen Visa in order to let allow free movement in 1985.

From 1995, Schengen visa has been implemented to issue a single visa to travel around all the Schengen countries which include 22 European countries and 2 non European Countries. Any of these Schengen countries when issues a Schengen visa to the applicant, the applicant can travel with that single visa to any of these countries and between these Schengen countries. The Schengen countries include

EU Countries:
1. Austria
2. Belgium
3. Czech Republic
4. Denmark
5. Estonia
6. Finland
7. France
8. Germany
9. Greece
10. Hungary
11. Italy
12. Latvia
13. Lithuania
14. Luxembourg
15. Malta
16. Netherlands
17. Poland
18. Portugal
19. Slovakia
20. Slovenia
21. Spain
22. Sweden
Non EU Countries:
23. Norway and
24. Iceland

Switzerland is expected to join this Schengen visa list very soon. Indians planning to visit UK must obtain a separate visa for UK. Indians wishing to visit any of these Schengen countries for any purpose visiting, tourism, study, work or business simply need to apply for a Schengen visa. If from India we want to tour any one or more of these Schengen countries, then we need to apply for a Schengen tour visa from the first country of visit of your tour Ex: Austria, with the same Schengen visa issued by Austria consulate, we have the privilege to travel to all these 24 countries.