You are here

Viswanathan Anand

Viswanathan Anand

Viswanathan Anand (often mispronounced as Vishwanathan Anand) is the current World Chess Champion and is an Indian chess grandmaster. Anand was born on 11th December 1969. Viswanathan Anand is nick named as “Vishy” and plays his game at the Blitz speed.

[Freelinking: unknown plugin indicator "Image"]

Career Achievements

At the age of 14 in 1983, Anand won the National Sub-Junior Chess Championship with a score of 9/9. At the age 15 in 1984, Anand won the International Master Title and became the youngest Indian to win this title. He became the National chess Champion at the age of 16 and won that title two more times. By winning the World Junior Chess Championship in 1987, he became the first Indian to win this Title. Anand became India’s first grandmaster in 1988,at the age of eighteen and also awarded the Padma Shri.

In 1993, Anand was qualified for his first Candidate Tournament at the World chess Championship !993 Cycle. He with Gata Kamsky dominated the qualifying cycles of FIDE and PCA World championship in the year 1994-1995. In 1995 at the PCA cycle, he made a record for the opening of the world championship match. In the year 2000, Anand won the FIDE World Chess Championship for the first time in his career and also became the First Indian to win this Title. In 2002, he lost the title to Ruslan Ponomariov in the FIDE knockout tournament. He again won the FIDE World Chess Championship title in September 2007. In the same year, he scored 9 points out of 14, and won the double round-robin tournament. Anand is the first player to win the three Big chess Super tournaments: Corus (1998, 2003, 2004, 2006), Linares (1998, 2007, 2008), Dortmund (1996, 2000, 2004).

Titles Won

Anand had won the following world chess championship titles:

  • The Corsica title (6 times from 1999 – 2005).
  • The Mainz title (8 times from 2000 – 2006, 2008).
  • The Eurotel, Fujitsu Giants and the Melody Amber in 2002
  • The Dortmund title in 2004.
  • The Leon title in 2005.
  • The Corus chess tournament in 2006.
  • The Monaco Amber Blindfold and Rapid Chess Championships (1994, 1997, 2003, 2005 and 2006).
  • The Chess Oscar ( 5 times in the years 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, and 2007).
  • The Grenkeleasing Rapid championship in 2007.
  • The Linares in 2007 and 2008.
  • The Advanced Chess tournaments (3 times).


  • Arjuna award for Outstanding Indian Sportsman in Chess in 1985.
  • Padma Shri, National Citizens Award and Soviet Land Nehru Award in 1987
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in 1991 – 1992.
  • British Chess Federation 'Book of the Year' Award in 1998 for his book My Best Games of Chess.
  • Sportstar Millennium Award in 1998
  • Padma Bhushan in 2000.
  • Jameo de Oro Award from the Spain Government in 2001.
  • Chess Oscar in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004 and 2007.
  • Padma Vibhushan in 2007