You are here

IPL Venues

As we know IPL has originated in India seeing the passion of Cricket in India, but because of some unavoidable circumstances, it had to be shifted to South Africa in 2009 looking for venues for this tournament. The IPL Twenty-20 tournament 2009 was played in South Africa due to some political reasons in India.

IPL 2009 venues in South Africa were as follows:

1. Durban
2. Johannesburg
3. Blomfontein
4. Cape Town
5. Pretoria
6. Port Elizabeth

As IPL T-20 tournament was played in these cities of South Africa so these are also one of the venues for Indian Premier League.
Chennai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Delhi, Hyderabad were some of the well known venues in India.

New Venues in 2010

As far as the third edition of IPL is considered, in 2010 four new venues are selected in India in addition to the previous venues where the matches were played. Nagpur, Visakhapatnam, Ahmedabad and Dharamsala are the new venues for Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab respectively as announced by league’s chairman and Commissioner Lalit Modi on 11th August, 2009.

Third Season

As per reports, the third edition of Indian Premier League to be held in 2010 will start from March 12 and final will be played on April 25. It will be a 60- game tournament. Hyderabad will be the venue for the opening match which will be played between Deccan Chargers and Kolkata Knight Riders while both the semi finals will be played in Bangalore. The venue for the final match is yet to be decided.

Other Factors

The selection of venue depends on many other factors such as climatic conditions, location of the stadium, transportation facilities, security conditions and some other factors like stadium quality, availability of seats, lighting, pitch conditions etc. And when the “Million- dollar baby” is considered, these factors are of prime importance. The venues also affect the sponsors heavily as their whole business depends more or less on the venue and television broadcast.